Digimon World Fan Remakes Compared: Status & PC Needs
Compare Digimon World Definitive Edition with Forge, Recompiled, Maeson, RE-World and official Next Order: engines, copy requirements and status.
FAQ
Is Digimon World Definitive Edition the same as Digimon World Forge?
Which fan projects need my own PS1 copy or disc image?
What is Digimon World Maeson?
Is Digimon World Recompiled finished?
Does this wiki link to downloads for any project?
How does Next Order fit in?
Why compare Digimon World 1 fan projects?
Search traffic around “digimon world remake” and “digimon world fan remake” mixes several names dropped in late 2026. They share the 1999 PlayStation game as inspiration but differ in engine, legal model, and scope—several target PC play with different copy rules. Release date: not announced for Digimon World: Definitive Edition or Digimon World Forge as of the materials we cite; Digimon World Recompiled is a shipped Windows port (v0.3.5, 2026-09-04) that needs your own SLUS-01032 disc image. This table uses only verified public descriptions—no rankings and no download links.
For Definitive Edition itself, start with what is Digimon World Definitive Edition? and release date / download status.

Screenshot from the official English trailer (2026-10-23), used for commentary.
Digimon World fan remake comparison table
| Project | Type | Engine / format | Need your own US PS1 copy? | Status (verified) | Version / date notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Digimon World: Definitive Edition | Nonprofit fan rebuild | Unity | Not stated in trailer | In development; no release date or download | English trailer 2026-10-23; nonprofit fan project (IAnime Estúdio) |
| Digimon World Forge | Free fan PC remake | Godot (migrated) | Yes — own US PS1 copy required | Coming soon trailer 2026-10; no release date | Claims 260 raiseable Digimon, 34 Megas |
| Digimon World Recompiled | Static recompile port | Windows native (ethan4love) | Yes — US SLUS-01032 disc image | Released port line | v0.3.5 (2026-09-04); widescreen, save states, rewind, mod menu |
| Digimon World Maeson | ROM hack (PS1) | Patched PS1 image | Yes — patch US image | Active hack release | v1.09a (2024-06-23); Romhacking.net |
| Digimon RE-World | Fan remake demo | Windows (XenoKeit) | Not stated in cited sources | In development demo; community notes possible stall | itch.io listing |
| Digimon World: Next Order (reference) | Official Bandai Namco game | Multi-platform commercial | No — standalone product | Shipped | PS Vita 2016; PS4 2017; Switch & PC 2023-02-22 |
How do approaches differ?
Ground-up remakes (Definitive Edition, Forge, RE-World) rebuild or replace large parts of the experience. The Definitive Edition trailer emphasizes optional toggles (feature switches), widescreen geometry (428×240 guide), and new content lanes like new Digimon and Net Surf Village.
Recompiled keeps the original program logic via recompilation—quality-of-life for players who already own the disc data.
Maeson stays on PS1 hardware semantics but rewrites balance and evolution through a patch.
Next Order belongs in comparisons only as an official modern Digimon World line entry; it is not a File Island 1999 recreation.
Which project matches your question?
| If you want… | Look at… |
|---|---|
| Toggleable HD layers on the 1999 map layout | Definitive Edition (in development)—trailer news |
| Large roster remake on Godot | Forge (separate site and trailer) |
| Same game with widescreen + rewind on PC | Recompiled (needs disc image) |
| Modified PS1 balance on real hardware / emu | Maeson patch |
| Official modern raising sim | Next Order (store product) |
PS1 mechanics still matter
Several projects touch the same 1999 raising loop. Our Digimon World 1 evolution guide and care mistakes document 1999 PS1 rules for context. Definitive Edition advertises new Digimon, Mega tier space, and bug fixes—expect divergence when its switches are on.
Track Definitive Edition announcements on the project status snapshot.
Legal and copy requirements (high level)
Fan remakes sit in different legal buckets:
- Recompiled and Forge publicly state you must supply your own US PS1 game data—they do not ship Bandai’s disc contents.
- Maeson distributes a patch applied to an image you already own.
- Definitive Edition describes a Unity rebuild with new art layers; the trailer credits Bandai for Digimon and official art. It has not published a license FAQ beyond that notice.
- Next Order is a commercial Bandai Namco product with normal store licensing.
This wiki does not provide legal advice; the table exists so you know which questions to ask each project before hunting files online.
Reading order for new trailer viewers
- What is Definitive Edition?
- Trailer news post
- Feature switches
- This comparison sheet if you also heard about Forge or Recompiled
Sources & verification
Definitive Edition: English trailer (2026-10-23) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfRXYzcOUkQ. Other projects: digimonworldforge.com, retrododo (Forge, 2026-10-22), emulationking.com and r/digimon (Recompiled), Romhacking.net (Maeson), itch.io (RE-World), Steam / Bandai Namco (Next Order)—as listed in the reference sources named above. Last checked 2026-10-25.
Related Articles
guides
Digimon World 1 Care Mistakes & How to Save (PS1 Rules)
Original PS1 Digimon World care mistakes that count toward evolution, plus sleep-only saving with the ZZZ bubble—background for comparing Definitive Edition raising.
guides
Digimon World 1 Evolution Guide: PS1 Rules and Hours (2026)
Original 1999 Digimon World evolution rules: three-of-four condition groups, 6/24/72/144 in-game hours, weight ±5g and care mistakes. Not DWDE numbers.
guides
Digimon World: Definitive Edition Feature Switches
All eight Definitive Edition trailer toggles: widescreen, remastered art, new Digimon, boy or girl, online battles, bug fixes, 3D models and PC saves.
Was this helpful?
Thanks for the feedback!